h1

Great Vocation Story

January 25, 2010

The news broke while I was in the Bay Area (more on that later today or tomorrow), so you’ve probably all already heard the good news, but one of the top prospects for the Oakland A’s baseball team has decided to retire from Baseball in order to enter the priesthood.

Grant Desme was destined for pretty big things in baseball, at least in the short term, as he was widely considered one of the top prospects in the organization. In fact, he was the only player in the Arizona Fall League to hit 30 home runs and steal 30 bases. Although he would have been a long shot to reach the big leagues this season, his performance in the minors was enough to turn heads of A’s fans.

Although I would love to have Grant at my seminary next fall he won’t be headed here. He is joining the Norbertines down in Orange County. I have had the opportunity to visit the Norbertines on several occasions at their abbey and enjoyed it quite a bit. One of their apostolates is at J. Serra High School in San Juan Capistrano. I’m sure that Grant will do well there.

Its so nice to hear inspiring stories like this. It motivates me to work harder and trust God more. So thanks for that, Grant. You’re in my prayers and I hope I’ll get a chance to meet you next time I’m down at the abbey.

Leave a Reply

